Ward boundaries

After 1982, municipal election frequency changed from every 2 years to 3 years (1982, 85, 88, 91, 94, 97, 2000, 03, 06); after 2006, election frequency changed to 4 years (2010, 14, 18, 22, 26). The number of wards has changed several times.

  • 1988: When the six municipalities of the former Metro Toronto were forcibly amalgamated by the provincial government, the new megacity kept the 28 wards of the old Metro council (and elected two councillors for each ward).
  • 1999: The city created new single-member wards that made greater sense, and adopted a recommendation to switch to a 57-ward system in May 1999. However, in Dec 1999, the province mandated 44 single-member wards based on the existing 22 provincial riding boundaries. (Globe, Jan 2000)
  • 2000 onwards: Prior to the 2018 municipal election, there were 44 Wards.
    Ward 27: Councillor Kyle Rae, then Kristyn Wong-Tam (ward map)
    Ward 28: Councillor Pam McConnell (ward map)
    The boundary between these two wards: Sherbourne, Queen, University. Ward 13 (formed in 2018 by combining Ward 27 and 28): Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam, then Chris Moise (ward map)
  • 2014-2016: The city reviewed ward boundaries in an attempt to achieve voter parity, and avoid splitting communities (Now, Jan 2015). In May 2016, the city recommended 47 wards the for 2018 election, to better balance the # of residents in each ward. This was approved by the city in Jan 2018 (Spacing, Jan 2018)
  • 2018: In July (while municipal election campaigns were underway), the province reduced the number of wards to 25 (Globe, Sept 2018)
This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.